Employees' Provident Fund Organisation
Ministry of Labour & Employment
Government of India

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Social Security Arrangement between India and Federal Republic of Germany.

An agreement on Social Insurance was signed between the Federal Republic of Germany (FDR) and the Republic of India on 8th October 2008, in New Delhi. The agreement recognises Social Security contributions of Work Forces in either Nations.

To operationalise the administrative arrangements for implementation of the agreement, a draft administrative document was signed today by a delegation from both the sides at Bhavishya Nidhi Bhawan, EPFO Head Quarters, New Delhi.

Through this arrange ment Indian Employees contributing to EPF in India and posted in Germany will be exempted from contribution to Social Security Fund in Germany. The arrangement is likely to get operationalised in 2009.

While the German delegation was headed by Mr. Hans-Holger Baue, Managing Director, National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Funds, DVKA, the Indian delegation was lead by Mr. A. Viswanathan, Central Provident Fund Commissioner, Employees' Provident Fund Organisation, India.

Following are the other members of the delegation:

Representing FDR

1.             Mr. Michael Schmidt, Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs

2.             Mr. Franz-Peter Kampman, National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Funds, DVKA

3.             Mr. Walter Zoeller, Councillor, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, New Delhi

Representing India

1.                Mr. S.K. Khanna, Additional Central Provident Fund Commissioner

2.                Mr. V. Vijay Kumar, Regional Provident Fund Commissioner - I

3.                Mr. Kumar Rohit, Regional Provident Fund Commissioner - II

4.                Mr. Gautam Dixit, Regional Provident Fund Commissioner - II

5.                Mrs. Aparajita Jaggi, Regional Provident Fund Commissioner - II

6.                Mr. Raman Dhanasekaran, Assistant Provident Fund Commissioner


The agreement being inked by Mr. A. Viswanathan and Mr. Hans-Holger Baue

 For more photographs of the event, please visit our Photo Gallery